mosaic

trying to create something beautiful out of the broken pieces

Waiting… September 26, 2009

Filed under: Life — kunderwood @ 12:29 pm

is the hardest part.

A lot has been going on in our household over the last several months, and I’ve been too crazy, busy, stressed, etc. to even begin to blog about it.  We decided a few months ago to move to NY.  I can honestly say that I never thought I would say that, let alone be excited about it.  But I am!  The town I grew up in (for most of my life, at least) is a great place to live and raise kids.  Especially when two of my three sisters live there with their combined 9 children!  Brent and I feel very strongly about giving our kids the opportunity of growing up with their cousins.  Honestly, we haven’t always felt this way, but the older they get, and the wiser we get, the more we have realized the benefits from that.  It helps, needless to say, that there’s a job there for Brent.  We’ve thought this would be great for the last couple of years, but we just didn’t see any real possibilities around our families, plus we felt very strongly that we were where we were supposed to be anyway.  But this summer we made the decision to go help my sisters and their husbands with their church plant.

We are so excited on so many levels.  Oh my word, I get to live near my sisters!!!!  The kids are so excited to live near their cousins.  We are so excited to live somewhere where we can simplify our life.  Brent is excited about the job possibility there and all the potential he sees.

But first we have to sell our house.  Oh, I am so tired from this part!  We have worked (with so much unbelievable help from so many of our friends!) over the last several weeks to get our house on the market and finally last Saturday it became official!  Needless to say, we were really excited and completely poised and ready for quick clean ups and evacuations in the case of someone coming to look at it.  Nothing.  We have sat here for a week and not a single person has asked to look at our house.  Agghhhh!!!  Our realtor said that across the board, it’s really slow right now and people just aren’t looking.  We get that.  But, oh my word, it’s so hard to sit here and wait!

In the meantime, though, we at least wait with some really good friends that we will miss terribly once we move.  We have been able to really live in the moments and enjoy those around us knowing that it won’t last much longer- at least we don’t think!  We have been so blessed over the last 12 years we have lived in Virginia to have some really wonderful, meaningful relationships, and that’s what we’ll miss the most.

With the weather a close second. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Waiting…”

  1. suzannah Says:

    it is SO hard living far away from family, and i’m happy for you! what part of NY?

    blessings and speed on selling your house:)

  2. kunderwood Says:

    thanks, suzannah! we’re moving to the finger lakes region- beautiful!!


Leave a comment